top of page
  • jessedawson0

Music History @ WAAPA - a reflection

Updated: Jan 21, 2023

Reflection Piece: Music that changed the world.


Question:

What did you learn about music, the arts, and it’s place in society since arriving at WAAPA? Between 300 - 500 words

Answer:

Probably my biggest takeaway from the Music History unit this year is that music reflects culture. Genevieve said that in the summary of her lecture on Thursday and that really drove it home for me. Throughout history, music has always been there - reflecting culture. Reflecting the way people worked, fought wars, survived, travelled, loved, lost, expressed and freed themselves as a group of people (culture). Honestly it just amazes me, and this has been one of my favourite units throughout the year. It was great to learn a bit of geography too as I’m not so sharp in that department! I learned about African slaves and how they immigrated into different parts of the world, bringing their culture and awesome musical prowess with them. The beautiful people of South America who make music so the people can socialize and dance through the night. Or the huge orchestral bangers coming from the Soviet Union through the wars. You can hear what the musicians are conveying, no matter the time or place in the world.

Music is truly universal.

I learned about technology and the impact that it’s had on music – recording, listening, performing, creating, the future, and what’s in store. I learned of self-management and how important it is so that you don’t have a big percentage of your earnings taken from you. I couldn’t believe that Elvis had 50% of his revenue taken by his manager, a one Colonel Tom Parker. A massive one I noticed is how technology kept coming up in the lectures. Things like streaming and YouTube have just completely changed the game for the modern musician. For better and for worse I would say, you kind of need it these days else you will fall behind but it has also ended careers and caused lots of harm to the industry in my opinion. I love how music has always been a part of history. Sometimes in horrific situations, but it might have just been that rhythm or melody that got some of those poor people through the hell they may have been experiencing. I am so grateful for music and for the amazing, talented people that have gone through so much adversity but continue to express themselves. It’s definitely something that’s deeply ingrained in the human race, and it’s been a joy to learn about how it has carried through time. It honestly blows my mind. It's in all of us. It has been and is, a part of many people’s everyday lives as it helps, heals and continues to evolve through different cultures coming together to create music. I know that I couldn’t live without it, and I look forward to seeing what’s around the corner for the love of my life: Music.


- JD





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page